Samsung Galaxy s2 phone review: Comparing Blackberry, iPhone and Android – or How to kill a Blackberry with a washer and dryer.

Samsung Galaxy 2s phone review: Comparing Blackberry, iPhone and Android – or How to kill a Blackberry with a washer and dryer

Noogler – Samsung Galaxy s2 phone review: Comparing Blackberry, iPhone and Android

It all started when I was doing laundry. I was in a hurry to get a load started before a lunch date, and then when I got home the phone rang and I moved the cloths from the washer to the dryer as I talked. I closed the door and continued to talk on the phone. When the dryer was done, I started folding the cloths and noticed that I was finding various pieces of my Blackberry phone. Opps.

After 3 years with my small Blackberry phone, I came to the end of the line (pun) with it. Death by washer and dryer.

The reality was that I was not emotionally, mentally or physically prepared for one of the most challenging life experiences one could have –  choosing a new phone.

Blackberry, iPhone and Android

I started the process with a clean slate, and felt that I could afford any phone as long as it was with a 2 year plan, but a lower price obviously would play a factor in the end when I narrows the choices down to a few phones.

I like my Blackberry, the email worked great and effortlessly both in and out of the USA (I like to travel), but I knew that iphone and android offered a great experience with games, unique apps, entertainment and of course email and phone functions.

So I started looking at Blackberry, iPhone and Android phones and operating systems. The first thing I discovered was the the Blackberry smart phones really are a level down from iPhone and Android in terms of functionality and features, which left this fight between iPhone and Android.

The iPhone is just one phone, with Android there are about 20 worth considering, so I had to decide between iPhone or Android. The iPhone OS has a very smooth User Interface and App store has about 10 trillion apps in it, but after playing with it for a few days, I notices that the phone and applications are very rigid, and coming from a PC Windows background found it too Applely (is that really a word?).

I also felt that I wanted a iTab, but in a smaller size. The I Phone screen is nice cuz it makes for a smaller phone then some of the Andriod phones, but it doesn’t allow for choice since it is only one size.

I will say this though, the iPhone camera and video capabilities are really some of the best of all the phones I tried.

I feel like a robot

This now reduced me to having to only choose between about 20 Android based phones. So before I started looking closely at the available Android phones, I made a list of my critical features requirements:

  1. Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) or Android 3.3.5 (Gingerbread) with a planed update to 4.0 within 2 months
  1. Larger then an iPhone – if I wanted that size, then I would get an iPhone
  1. Must work in Europe and Asia
  1. 4G is important, but I know I will get another phone at the end of the contract, so I can wait for 4G on my next phone. Remember, my last phone was 2G, so 3G is a big upgrade.
  1. Must have WiFi
  1. AMOLED screen is a must for clear photo and video viewing
  1. Rear and front cameras for video calls.
  1. A Dual Core Application Processor is important since that is where the real power and speed comes from for video processing and gaming

So once I had these defined, it narrowed the field down quite a bit. These are the phones that met these requirements:

  • Samsung Galaxy s2
  • Samsung Galaxy s2 Skyrocket
  • Samsung Galaxy Nexus
  • HTC Amaze 4G
  • Motorola Photon 4G
  • Motorola Droid Bionic
  • Motorola Atrix 2

Samsung Galaxy s2

All the above phone are good phones, and each has their appeal, so it really came down to some very personal preference choices. Some people will like one phone better then another, so it really is down to a person choice once you narrow the field down.

In the end for me, the one I like the best was the $50.00 deal from ATT, for the Galaxy sII.

Price versus features was the bottom line, I felt for $50 the Samsung Galaxy 2s offered all the important specs, and met all my minimum requirements for the lowest price.

I didn’t need the 4G version, and there seems to be compatibility issues with 4G in Europe – which ruled out any of the 4G phones for now. We will see what the 4G situation is in 2 year, and reevaluate.

I felt the Samsung Galaxy s2 had the best video and photo specs, and it has a planed January Andriod 4.0 update. I got a Ringbo screen protector and rubber case and I am now a Samsung Galaxy IIs phone mini tablet thingy owner.

NOTE: The photo of the Noogler, were shot with my Samsung Galaxy 2s, and I tweaked the brightness and saturation in Photoshop.

I am very happy with the Samsung Galaxy s2, and have had no problems with it.

I did find that if you are wearing glasses, that the phone will bump up against them when holding to your ear. Not a big issue.

It is a large flat thing about a 1/4 inch thick, so it is always awkward when holding it to your head. The speaker phone and the Bluetooth work great, and those are what I use the most.

My normal use of the phone, calls, photos, video, web, GPS and games, result in a battery life of about 14 hours between charges. Enough for a day of being myself. I did try the phone with just a few phone calls, 30 minutes of game playing and taking only a couple of photos, and I got more like 30 hours before the charge was used up.

Now, hopefully it will never meet my friends the Washer and Dryer!!!

Samsung Website with all the Galaxy sII specs and details:

http://www.samsung.com/global/microsite/galaxys2/html/

Samsung Galaxy s2 phone review: Comparing Blackberry, iPhone and Android – or How to kill a Blackberry with a washer and dryer

2 thoughts on “Samsung Galaxy s2 phone review: Comparing Blackberry, iPhone and Android – or How to kill a Blackberry with a washer and dryer.

  1. You might not need 4G but cant it really hurt to have it installed on your phone? That is where the trend is going and once the the carrier works the quirks out of the system you should enjoy seamless connectivity.

    • Well, I am currently getting a download speed of 10019kbps and and upload speed of 7739kbps – when I used a 4G verizon phone, it was closer to 15000, but I am very happy with my current speed, and should be for the next 2 years. Also, with the LTE sim, it won’t work in Europe right now, so I am really OK with the 3g speed I am getting. I am sure my next phone will be 4G, but right now ATT only has 4G in Texas and a few other places, so I couldn’t use it anyways. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

