Looking for a place on Easy Street.

Looking for a place on Easy Street.

Looking for a place on Easy Street.

Happy New Year!!!!!!

Welcome to the year 2011.

The future of my youth is now here in ‘real-time’ streaming pixilated bytes of 3D surround sound 1080p mega vision.

So, what do I wish for in this next year?

How about that American Dream called a place on East St.

A place on Easy Street, you know; a place where you don’t have to work and you have enough money to buy all the things you have been told that you want, anytime you want. Happiness. The happiness of the new American Dream of the 21st century. You know, you become famous for 15 seconds, and then you become a brand and then you are rich and can buy everything so you are happy.

Every time I open a magazine, watch TV or go on-line – all I am told is that happiness is something you buy.

I am told every day that others will view you as good if you have this or that object that they are selling.

So, when did buying things become happiness? When did shopping become what we do when we are not working? When was the turning point when people started viewing other peoples value and worth as a human – by the things we buy, wear and own?

It seems built in that we do this automatically. I looked back on the posts that I have made this year. More then I have ever made on this blog. Some political. Some posts are about sports and some are about products that I bought and liked.

For 2011, I will continue to make post, and even make post about thing I bought or want to buy.

But, I am now thinking, what about my own life. Why do I buy things? Why do I want things?

Sometimes, I think we are just monkeys playing a game. The game called Human. The monkeys that have what a lot of the other monkeys think are valuable ‘things’, are considered better monkeys then the other monkeys.

If you make it to Easy Street, then you are a winner of the Human Game.

Really? Is that what our lives as Americans have been reduced to?

I know that at least 25% of our population can NOT earn any or even the minimum amount of money needed to survive. One it four Americans. At least 10% are currently unemployed. Another 15% don’t have enough work or enough pay to technically stay above the poverty line.

1 in 4 Americans can’t buy a Louie Vuitton purse or  a Rolex watch – so does that mean they are to spend the rest of their life unhappy – unable to be happy since they can’t buy things?

I earn money. I can pay rent, pay the bills and feed myself. Can’t really save much, and don’t know when I will be able to buy a LV purse. Does that mean I have to spend 2011 unhappy?

Am I simply just a monkey playing the Human Game, who has not yet found a place on Easy Street? Never to know happiness?

No. I have decided that not having a LV purse doesn’t means that I am less then the chick who has one. I can’t buy much, but that is not a reason to be unhappy.

Instead I am going to simply do the things I love doing, and enjoy life.

Today, I wrote a sign and put it in my office.

It simply says, ‘Easy Street’.

There, now I have a place on Easy Street.

3 thoughts on “Looking for a place on Easy Street.

  1. Norinomics by scientist Nori Murthy is the greatest gift to the people and nations of our world. Nori Murthy had stuffed priceless philosophy in simple words and applied meticulously to individuals, institutions and nations. This universal philosophy (Norinomics) is praiseworthy and award-worthy too and thus, certainly deserves all the national awards and Nobel Laureate too.

  2. Thank you for your comment Miss D.

    I think we will all be better off in life, if we focused on finding happiness that is based on who we are and doing what we enjoy vs. buying crap to make us think we are happy.

  3. “So, when did buying things become happiness? When did shopping become what we do when we are not working?”

    Well. The turning point in America really came in the 1920’s, which is when advertising began to grow. The use of advertising was employed to sell people on the idea of using CREDIT to pay for things they couldn’t previously afford (like Ford Model-T’s, Houses, Vacations, washing machines, etc.). This is the beginning of what was utilitarian, became a “brand.” This scheme got derailed somewhat by the Great Depression and WWII, but continued to grow.

    For me, the big difference came in the 1980’s. That is when we all began to hear about “marketing” and “branding” and companies began to aggressively market their products (and hence raise prices) to sell a certain “feeling.” Even basic commodities like food are now “marketed” to create a fake sense of value, which means the company can try to get a larger profit margin.

    Example: In the 80’s a 16oz. box of cereal cost about $1.59. Today, the 14oz. box of same cereal costs $4.89. We get less but pay more.

Leave a Reply

